Google Services

Website Translate Close Translate
The Hollies School

The Hollies School

Learning to flourish

The New Curriculum for Wales

The Hollies School is part of the Pioneer School's Network, which worked to develop a new curriculum for schools in Wales that will enthuse learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundations they need to succeed in a changing world.


The new curriculum was published in April 2019 for review and feedback. A final version will be available in January 2020, and will be used throughout Wales by 2022.


The purpose of the new curriculum is to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The new curriculum has six ‘Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLE).

Expressive arts.

Health and well-being.

Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16).

Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages).

Mathematics and numeracy.

Science and technology.


It will also include three cross-curricular responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence.

The Pioneer School Network and the new curriculum for Wales